Waimarimo Trophy Race Report

The inaugural Waimarimo Trophy was held on Sunday August 9th at Whakapapa, Mt Ruapehu.

The competitors aged 13 years to 20 years old were from Northern Snow Circus, Stockman Sports and the majority from Ruapehu Snow Sports.

The conditions on the day were testing – as the ski field had been slammed with two days of snow and the upper mountain had not been open for several days. The mountain staff worked hard to open the Valley T Bar for the racers and the public, unfortunately due to a technical fault they were unable to run it for the day.

So as in many days past – the athletes hiked to the start of the race, inspecting the course on their way up. The course itself was fun and enjoyed by all of the athletes. It allowed good skiers to shine and less experienced to improve.

 The results were:

Waimarino Trophy winners – Female – Anastasia Seator-Braun (Stockman Sports), Male- Will Cashmore (Northern Snow Circus)

U14 Female – 1st Anastasia Seator-Braun (Stockman Sports), 2nd Sophie Grenfell (Stockman Sports), 3rd Jenna Johnson (Northern Snow Circus)

U14 Male – 1st Lachlan Powell (Ruapehu Snow Sports) , 2nd Fynn Powell (Ruapehu Snow Sports), 3rd Nicolai Foenander (Northern Snow Circus) 

U16 Female – 1st Grace Johnstone (Stockman Sports), 2nd Lauren Benseman (Northern Snow Circus), 3rd Holly Taylor (Ruapehu Snow Sports)

U16 Male – 1st Will Cashmore (Stockman Sports), 2nd Gibson Nevill (Northern Snow Circus), 3rd Campbell Benseman (Northern Snow Circus) 

U18 Female – 1st Laura Jackson (Northern Snow Circus), 2nd Olivia Cartwright (Northern Snow Circus), 3rd Hannah Crawford (Northern Snow Circus)

U18 Male – 1st Joseph Farnsworth (Northern Snow Circus), 2nd Finn Bawden (Northern Circus)

U21 Female – 1st Tess McLean (Ruapehu Snow Sports)

U21 Male – 1st Lewis Wood (Stockman Sports) 

The next event is the North Island Champs on 17th 18th 19th September.