Snow Sports NZ Annual Award Nominees

Lake Wanaka, New Zealand (28 September 2015) – Snow Sports NZ is pleased to announce the nominees for its Annual Awards:




Instructor of the Year

Blair Davidson

Campbell Mason

Gaz Smith 

Coach of the Year

Ben Adams – Adaptive Snow Sports

Nils Coberger - Alpine Ski Racing

Henrik Forsberg – Cross Country

Tom Willmott – Freeski

Sean Thompson – Snowboard 

Breakthrough Season

Jamie Prebble - Freeski

Sam Lee - Freeride

Carlos Garcia Knight – Snowboard

Adaptive Snow Sports Athlete of the Year 

Adam Hall

Carl Murphy

Corey Peters 

Alpine Ski Racer of the Year 

Adam Barwood

Piera Hudson

Willis Feasey 

Cross Country Skier of the Year 

Andy Pohl

Campbell Wright

Louis Jones 

Freeride Athlete of the Year 

Charlie Lyons

Sam Lee

Sam Smoothy 

Freeskier of the Year

Byron Wells

Janina Kuzma

Jossi Wells

Snowboarder of the Year

Carlos Garcia Knight

Christy Prior

Duncan Campbell 

Awards will also be presented to the 2015 Masters Ski Racing Champions, Alison Duder and Perry Coulter. 

The Snow Sports NZ Annual Awards Night will be held on Saturday 10 October at the Lake Wanaka Centre from 6 -10.30pm. The awards encompass a 12 month timeframe which includes the 2014/2015 Northern Hemisphere season and the 2015 Southern Hemisphere season.

Winners will be presented with their awards and a guest panel will be speak about their Life in Snow Sports.

The guest panel includes:

  • Gin Rutledge, Physio to the NZ Winter Olympic Team and Olympic gold medallist Ted Ligety
  • Will Jackways, multi-talented pro snowboarder
  • Adam Hall, Paralympic gold medallist
  • Hamish Acland, Freeski pioneer and founder of Mons Royale
  • Jesse Teat,  NZ Olympian and Chef de Mission to the 2016 Youth Olympic Games