Nominees Announced for Snow Sports NZ Annual Awards

Lake Wanaka, NZ (27 September 2013) - The Snow Sports NZ Annual Awards Night presented by will take place on Friday 4 October 2013 at the Lake Wanaka Centre. Snow Sports NZ is pleased to announce the following nominees:

Coach of the Year: Ben Adams/Jane Stevens (Adaptive)

                            Nils Coberger (Alpine)

                            Bruce Wells (Freeski)

                            Alexei Sotskov (Cross Country)

                            Colin Bartlett (Snowboard)


Breakthrough Season:   Corey Peters (Adaptive)

                                    Eliza Grigg (Alpine)

                                    Christy Prior (Snowboard)

                                    Charlie Lyons (Freeski)


Cross Country Skier of the Year: Andy Pohl

                                                Nils Koons


Alpine Ski Racer of the Year: Adam Barwood

                                         Piera Hudson

                                         Willis Feasey


Adaptive Athlete of the Year:  Carl Murphy

                                           Adam Hall

                                           Corey Peters


Snowboarder of the Year: Christy Prior

                                      Ruari MacFarlane


Freeskier of the Year: Jossi Wells

                                Byron Wells

                                Charlie Lyons


The Snow Sports NZ Annual Awards Night provides an opportunity to celebrate all aspects of snow sports including the successes of athletes across all disciplines, as well as the coaches and supporters who contribute so much behind the scenes.

Film footage and photography showcasing the sports, athletes and events across the Northern and Southern Hemisphere seasons will be on show throughout the night. Attendees of the Snow Sports NZ Awards Night will also have the opportunity to enjoy a screening of the official New Zealand Olympic Team song performed by New Zealand singer-song writer Hollie Smith and the Royal New Zealand Navy Band.

As part of a new format, this year’s Snow Sports NZ Annual Awards have been timed to coincide with the Junior Freeski and Snowboard National Championships. The overall winners of the Junior Nationals will be presented with their awards at the start of the night with the Junior Nationals Awards ceremony beginning at 5.30. The Snow Sports NZ Annual Awards will then follow at 6.45pm.

11 years ago