Halliwell and Jackson Crowned National Indoor Slalom Champions

Snowplanet, Auckland – (21 October 2013) – The National Indoor Slalom championship was contested at Auckland’s Snowplanet on Saturday 19 September with Oscar Halliwell and Laura Jackson claiming the titles.

Competition was open to skiers in the U10, U12, U14, U16, U18 and U21 age groups and attracted a total of 47 entries.

 The event was held over a total of four runs; two on the first course and then a further two runs following a course re-set. The four-run format meant that racers experienced a full range of vertical combinations, hairpins and delay gates. The course was set by Brad Alwyin and race organisers were quick to praise his efforts along with the Snowplanet Team who “did a fantastic job, with the slope, course and the start.” The start was built up to be over two metres higher than the normal piste.

Oscar Halliwell (U16) was the fastest male racer, claiming the national indoor slalom title with his combined time of 1:09.72. Laura Jackson (U16) raced home in a time of 1:17.69 to become the women's champion.

In the U10 category Noah Franklin and Sophia Ullrich were top place-getters with Blake Hartley and Sophie Grenfell in U12; Theo Gilbertson and Chantelle Reilly U14; Josh Reilly in U18 and Nicole Yandall in U21. Follow links below for full results.

Click here for men’s results

Click here for women’s results

In future this event will be held on an annual basis in mid- to late October and will carry National Slalom points.