First Place for Nick Prebble & Eve Aspinall at New Zealand Indoor Slalom Championships

The New Zealand Indoor Slalom Championships were held at Snowplanet in Auckland on Saturday 18 October 2014. Competitors in U14, U16, U18 and men’s Senior (over 21) age groups raced four runs of the Slalom course. Nick Prebble (Team Hutt) was awarded the Championship title in the men’s class and Eve Aspinall (Northern Snow Sports Race Academy) in the ladies’ class.

“It was my first time skiing indoors and it was a great experience,” commented Nick. “The snow was quite different to what we are usually used to but I was just happy I was able to adapt and come out with the win.” 

Willis Feasey (Wanaka Ski & Snowsports Club) placed second on overall race time in 1:03.66s, 0.28s behind Nick’s lead. Adam Barwood (Wanaka) came home in third place, 0.64s off the winning time. 

U16 racers took out first and second place on overall results in the ladies’ field. Eve Aspinall claimed a convincing win 2.59s ahead of Northern Snow Circus racer, Laura Jackson’s time of 1:21.51s. Essadora Baxter-McAsey (NSC) claimed third place on overall results and was first in U18s.

Anabella Eady (Wanaka) was the fastest female racer in the U14 class. Will Cashmore and Rhys Davies were the respective winners of the men’s U14 and U16 ages groups. U18 men was won by Oscar Halliwell from Queenstown Alpine Ski Team. 

Aspiring young ski racers also had the opportunity to meet National Alpine Ski Racing Team members Adam Barwood, Nick Prebble and Willis Feasey at a poster signing session at the Snowplanet. 

“Everybody had a great time and it was great for the younger kids to meet and greet the national team boys,” said Nick. 

Snowplanet will next host the Junior Interfield races on 1 November.

Find full results from the New Zealand Indoor Slalom Championships here