Corey Peters, Nico Porteous Named as Finalists for 55th Halberg Awards

The Halberg Foundation has today announced the finalists for six categories at the 55th Halberg Awards – the nation’s pre-eminent event to honour and celebrate sporting achievements by New Zealand athletes, teams and coaches in 2017.  Snow Sports NZ is delighted to have Para alpine skier Corey Peters named as a finalist in the Halberg Disabled Sportsperson of the Year category and freeskier Nico Porteous named as a finalist in the Emerging Talent category.

Sixteen finalists from the Disabled Sportsperson, Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team of the Year categories are all in line for the supreme Halberg Award – the country’s highest accolade for sporting excellence, presented to the athlete or team whose achievement is deemed by the judges as representing excellence in sport at the highest level.

The Halberg Disabled Sportsperson of the Year award includes four time winner, Para swimmer Sophie Pascoe who set six world records in 2017.  William Stedman and Holly Robinson who both won silver medals at the World Para Athletics Championships and Para skier Corey Peters who won two silver medals at the World Para Alpine Skiing Championships also make the shortlist. 

The Emerging Talent award features a group of young athletes who have had great achievements in 2017 including track cyclist Ellesse Andrews who won the individual pursuit and a world record at the UCI Junior Track World Championships.  Sailor Josh Armit who won the under 17 Laser Radial World Title, freeskiier Nico Porteous who won the Australia New Zealand Cup Free Ski Halfpipe and rower Matthew MacDonald who claimed a silver medal in the Men’s Coxless Four at the World Junior Rowing Championships are also finalists.

The Halberg Awards judges comprised of sports journalists, former athletes and coaches who selected the finalists. The winners will be presented at the 55th Halberg Awards ceremony on Thursday 8 February 2018 at Spark Arena in Auckland and televised live on SKY SPORT.  

“The shortlist is an outstanding group of athletes, teams and coaches who have made New Zealanders proud with their achievements on the world stage in 2017.  We look forward to honouring and celebrating them all and recognising the supreme honour on February 8,” says Shelley McMeeken, Chief Executive of the Halberg Foundation.  

Full list of finalists for the 55th Halberg Awards:                                                                                                                                    

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)

Lisa Carrington (Canoe Racing), Lydia Ko (Golf), Portia Woodman (Rugby Union), Sarah Goss (Rugby Union). 

Sportsman of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)

Beauden Barrett (Rugby Union), Brendon Hartley (Motorsport), Ross Taylor (Cricket), Tom Walsh (Athletics). 

Halberg Disabled Sportsperson of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)

Corey Peters (Para alpine skiing), Holly Robinson (Para athletics), Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming), William Stedman (Para athletics). 

Team of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)

Black Ferns (Rugby Union), Black Sox (Softball), Emirates Team NZ (Yachting), Women’s K2 – Lisa Carrington & Caitlin Ryan (Canoe Racing).

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year

Gary Hay (Rowing), Glenn Moore (Rugby Union), Gordon Walker (Canoe Racing), Mark Sorenson (Softball). 

Emerging Talent:

Ellesse Andrews (Cycling), Josh Armit (Yachting), Matthew MacDonald (Rowing), Nico Porteous (Freeski).